Sutra of the Eight Realizations of Great Beings
(with Annotation)

page 4


Indolence: sloth or laziness easily leads to moral misconducts.
Practice with diligence: to attain the Way requires diligent effort.
Vexations: klesas (pronounced “kleshas”)—greed, anger, and ignorance; the       addictive mental states that vex the mind; causes of suffering;       defilement of the mindy.
Four maras: maras are obstacles to cultivation. 1. Kleshas, 2. skandhas, 3.       death, 4. deva-mara, the celestial evil tempter.
Prison: the skandhas are like a prison.

Ignorance: : ignorance of the true nature of the “self” and life. From       ignorance comes desires and hatred, which in turn lead to samsara.
Study and learn: bodhisattvas need to learn many ways of liberation in       order to help wide groups of people.
Eloquence: ability to convey the teaching well and to answer difficult       questions.

Poverty and hardship: easily lead to resentment, which in turn may       produce otherwise undue and uncalled-for bad karma with many       people.
Dana: the practice of charity. One may practice the giving of material       things, or donating organs, or the giving of Dharma wisdom, or the       giving of comfort and encouragement.
Equal: bodhisattva understands all beings are fundamentally equal; they       have no hatred towards evil or malicious people.
Five desires: desire for sights, sounds, smells, tastes, and touch.       Alternatively, desire for wealth, lust, fame, food, and sleep. They are       harmful, not pleasurable.
Three robes …: traditionally Buddhist monks wear only three robes. Tiled       bowl: monk’s begging bowl can be tiled or metal. Instruments: used in       chanting or Buddhist services. These are symbols of monastic life.

Mahayana: means great (maha) vehicle (yana). It is the path of       bodhisattvas and Buddhas, who are devoted to the liberation of all       beings. Mahayana mind: the bodhi mind, the enlightened mind, the       Buddha nature within all of us.
Take on sufferings: a bodhisattva is willing to self-sacrifice for others. But a       true sacrifice is to eliminate the ego and help others to eliminate the ego       and attain enlightenment.
Sentient beings: all living beings with sentience, including devas (gods or       heavenly beings), asuras (demi-gods), human beings, animals, hungry-       ghosts, and hell-beings. Unlike Buddhas and bodhisattvas, they are all       trapped in samsara.
Supreme joy: the joy of perfect enlightenment; the joy of nirvana.

Dharmakaya: the Buddha has three bodies (kaya), dharma-kaya, the truth       body, which is formless, unborn, our original nature; sambhogha-kaya,       the bliss body, which can only be seen by great bodhisattvas; and       nirmana-kaya, the transformation body, which is the historical Buddha       seen by ordinary beings.
Samsara: means “birth-and-death,” referring to reincarnation, that is the       endless cycle of birth-and-deaths. By extension it means this world of       afflictions and suffering.
Nirvana: the state free from all suffering; ultimate bliss and tranquility.
Thought after thought: one deviant thought can lead to grave peril; one       pure thought can eliminate great sin.
Bodhi path: the path to awakening, to becoming a Buddha. Therein lies the       lasting joy.

1 | 2 | 3 | 4

  Contact Us | Home | Chung Tai Chan Monastery Oversea Centers

CopyrightChung Tai Zen Center of Sunnyvale All Rights Reserved